The Harvest of a Kitchen Garden

Frost hit at the end of September this year, which means I had to pull the fruits vegetables of my labour a tad earlier than I would have liked (although later would be nearly impossible in this climate, which just means I should have started my plants earlier…). At any rate, I had much better luck this year than last.

I wound up with two large bags of red sail lettuce, one bag of rainbow Swiss chard, a ton of parsley, a bit of cilantro, some coriander seeds, spearmint, small onions, just over a pound of potatoes, and more chives than I know what to do with.

20131006-085539.jpg

20131006-085611.jpg

20131006-085643.jpg

20131006-085706.jpg

Incidentally, a guy I work with helps his family harvest their farm every year, and decided to give me a big bag of carrots. Payment? I make him some stew.

And of course, I can’t forget about the apples. Another friend helped me locate free crab apples in a local park, and then took me to get apples (mini-MacIntosh?) from a tree at an empty house. The haul wound up being 31.9 pounds of apples.

20131006-090435.jpg

The corn experiment failed, my tomatoes were eaten by squirrels, my cucumber and squash plants died a terrible death, and my broccoli and cauliflower both bolted. I like to think of this as a learning experience. All told though, I’m pretty happy.

Leave a Reply

