Random Discovery of the Day: Chives

Last summer, I dug up a flower bed that had been overtaken by grass and weeds in hopes of growing assorted vegetables. By the fall, despite my best attempts at weeding, my poor plants had been effectively choked out.

Fast forward to now. There are a bunch of wild flowers in this bed, which we’ve decided to leave as they’ll actually grow and compete with the weeds.

So, I went to pull some thistles, and made a very happy discovery: chives. Lots and lots of chives.

20130613-131646.jpg

Not sure where they came from as they are a different type than what I grew last year, but at any rate, I won’t turn away free food.

Leave a Reply

