Making Pasta.

Something I’ve always been curious to try is making pasta from scratch. I’ve always been nervous because I thought it would be difficult, which I now attribute to the cost of pre-made pasta and the small novel of ingredients listed on the package.

It turns out, it’s incredibly easy. All you really need is flour (I’m using whole wheat), eggs, and some water. You don’t even need a bowl for mixing. Whaaaaaat?

20121231-141653.jpg

Measure out two cups of flour on to the counter, and make a well in the middle.

20121231-141942.jpg

Crack two eggs into the well, break the yokes, and mix them around a bit.

20121231-142248.jpg

Start mixing flour from the outside of the well in with the egg. Dough will begin to form.

20121231-142603.jpg

While you knead the dough, add water until everything holds. The dough should be quite firm.

20121231-144005.jpg

Let the dough rest for about 30 minutes. After this, dust the counter with flour, and roll the dough out to however thin you’d like your noodles.

20121231-152248.jpg

If you don’t have a pasta cutter, use a pizza cutter or knife to cut your pasta.

20121231-152351.jpg

When you’ve cut the dough into pasta, find somewhere to dry it. I hung mine over a chair/cloth. You can also just cook it right away. It cooks far faster than store bought pasta; it will float when it’s cooked.

20121231-155205.jpg

2 comments

  1. I never knew it could be this easy to make pasta, My kids are going to love helping me with dinner tonight.

  2. […] Making Pasta..  My family loves pasta. I never knew it could be so easy to make.  The kids will love trying this one.  They love to make anything with flour.  I am thinking spaghetti tonight! […]

Leave a Reply

