Coconut Flour Crepes.

It dawned on me after the jam-making adventure yesterday, that if regular bread products are a no-go for the darling wife with the paleo diet, jam consumption is going to be a tad on the difficult side…

So naturally, I’m going to experiment with coconut flour baking and cooking in general. Which could be interesting as I understand that coconut flour is much dryer than conventional flour.

My first project? Crepes.

Did I mention that I’ve never actually made crepes at all before? Imitation crepes, which were actually very thin pancakes, yes. But crepes? Nay.

Well, there’s a first time for everything.

The crepes used coconut flour (obviously), coconut oil (other oils will also work), eggs, almond milk (or whatever you prefer), vanilla extract, and cinnimon.

20120730-131407.jpg

Break the eggs into a bowl, add a quarter of a teaspoon of vanilla, and two tablespoons of coconut oil. Beat everything together. Coconut oil is usually solid, but melts at around 25 degrees Celsius, so as it has been pretty warm here, it was very soft.

20120730-132118.jpg

Something funny that I hadn’t realised… If the eggs are still cold, the coconut oil will solidify again. I opted for a coffee break at this point.

20120730-132451.jpg

After the mixture had warmed back up, I gave it a good stir, and added two tablespoons of flour.

20120730-132650.jpg

Then I added in one-third of a cup of almond milk, and mixed until smooth.

20120730-132816.jpg

You’ll want to use a relatively small pan, coated with oil, over medium heat. For each crepe, I used two tablespoons of batter. Spread it out a bit, and cook for a couple of minutes on each side. I wound up using the ol’ toss-into-the air method to flip them so they wound up looking like this…

20120730-133405.jpg

Rather than this…

20120730-133444.jpg

The mix made six small crepes, which we filled with jam and fruit. I wound up making a second batch of jam yesterday as I had raspberries, so we used that.

20120730-134839.jpg

They didn’t roll so much as fold, but they actually turned out pretty well! We had an egg on the side.

20120730-133851.jpg

Success! The jam is also quite tasty, I’m happy to report.

4 comments

  1. Wow they look delicious. I might have to give it a try. I have tried a couple of coconut flour pancake recipes which were a disaster haha.

    1. Thank you! I almost made pancakes… If I stumble across anything that works out okay, I will be sure to post it!

  2. How was the texture? I always use a mixture of almond flour and coconut flour when I’m doing any kind of paleo baking because the texture is much better that way. I’ve never made paleo crepes though. Were they ok with just the coconut flour?

    1. They were a tad dry, but otherwise crepe-like. Having them with the fruit and jam made it pretty much unnoticeable though. I have yet to try a nut flour… What kind of ratio do you use between the almond and coconut flours?

Leave a Reply

